Initial Thoughts and Impressions

My name is Pam Carden and I am the newest member of the University of Charleston Physician Assistant Program team. In my new role as Admissions Coordinator I will be assisting prospective students with learning about the program and facilitating the application process.

I would like to share with you some of my initial thoughts and impressions.

All PA faculty, including David, Jennifer, Joe, Bill, and Rob are extremely intelligent and have extraordinary backgrounds and experiences. However, what impresses me the most is their “down to earth” demeanor; they are friendly, compassionate, patient, and respectful of others. I have felt included and supported every step of the way while becoming acclimated to my responsibilities. From day one I have felt valued.

Also, the computerized admissions process has been designed and implemented by our program director, David Payne PA-C, and Carey Sadowski, who serves as a developer and webmaster for the University website. It is comprehensive, efficient, and provides for monitoring and feedback every step of the way. The detailed procedure insures an application process that not only considers academic strength, but also the “total person.” This allows for consistent and unbiased selections.

Let me say more! UC Faculty, Administration, and Staff have extended greetings personally and freely offered assistance. The atmosphere is warm, yet professional. I feel that students and employees would agree that the University of Charleston is a great place to be!

The excitement is building for our inaugural class beginning January, 2013. I am honored to be a part of this amazing program.

Pam Carden MA
Admissions Coordinator